Where the weather is a little hotter
and the racing is a lot faster.....All Year Round!

Your Online Racing Community Since 1998
Stock Car Racing all year round!

Pete Orr Sportsmanship Award

Governors Cup
Memorial Races
Yesterday's Tracks
Stock Car Racing Photo Gallery
Florida Governor's Cup

Wayne Anderson Captures Third Governors Cup

By Jack Smith     
Though runner-up Tim Russell led in the early going and gave him a good run, it was a very strong third Governors Cup win at the end of 200 laps for Wayne Anderson.

Anderson set fast time and started on the pole in the running of the 43rd Annual Governors Cup at new Smyrna.

The race had nine cautions, but there was several very long green flag runs making for some good racing for the fans who braved the chilly temperatures.

Twenty-six cars took the green flag with not only the Cup title on the line but the Sunbelt Super Late Model Series and Triple Crown Championships as well.

Jeremy Colangelo came in with a 13 point lead over Russell, but the youngster from Deland could only manage a 9th position finish giving Russell the Sunbelt crown. A double disappoint for Colangelo as Brian Finney (Merritt Island) finished two spots ahead of him to squeeze out the Triple Crown title by a few points.

The Florida Governor's Cup was Governor's Cupcommissioned by then Governor Haydon Burns and was first awarded to Wayne Reutimann in 1965. The Cup was created to pay tribute to Al Keller, long time promoter of Florida stock car tracks. The Cup continues to be the premier race of the season through all these years in spite of set backs and the immense changes our state has gone through. 
The race was originally run at Golden Gate Speedway in Tampa until environmental issues forced the temporary closing of the track in 1979. 

Sunshine Speedway hosted the race in 1979, with the race moving back to Golden Gate for the next three years, under the direction of Don Nerone. The DeSoto Speedway hosted the race until 1987, though the Cup was not officially competed for. It was at that time that Clyde Hart, the builder and owner of New
Smyrna Speedway stepped forward and revived both the race and it's history. The race has been run at New Smyrna's half-mile ever since. In 1998 the Governor's Cup was
promoted for television by Terry Wall and Jack Smith, and was shown for the first time to fans all through the South via FOX and Sunshine Networks

The 2001 Governor's Cup 200 at New Smyrna Speedway was very special indeed. Governor Jeb Bush was the Grand Marshall and in the wake of the September 11 attacks his appearance was both inspiring for the fans and gave a much needed lift for all in attendance.The newly refurbished Grandstands at the New Smyrna Speedway were ready and an awesome field of the very best Late Model teams put on the show of the year for Florida race fans.  This was THE RACE of the Year!!

 In Memory of Al Keller
Al Keller migrated from White Plains, N.Y., to Tampa in 1948. He immediately began an association with frank Dery, Jr. not only as a race driver, but also as a partner in the speed equipment Al Kellerbusiness.

Keller drove Dery's modified at Plant Field, Speedway Park, Phillips Field and many other tracks in Florida. His famous flame set many records at local tracks. Al Later set his sights on the Indy 500 and in 1961 qualified 26th in afield of 33 cars. He finished 5th.
Late in 1961 Keller journeyed to Phoenix, Arizona, to the famous one mile dirt track there. On his way to the races he stopped briefly in Tampa and talked to Dery on the phone. He went to Phoenix and set a one lap record that fateful Sunday.  Later, during the 100 mile race Keller received fatal injuries in a crash.
The racing fraternity lost a fine competitor and gentleman with the death of Al Keller. It a a fine tribute by the State of Florida, and by our Governor, to honor him.
                                -Jim King

The #32 of Dave McInnis, winner of the first Florida State Championship.

courtesy Florida  Retrosprctive Pictorial

Dave McInnis

Samsula, FL (November 23, 2008) The 43rd Annual running of the Governor's Cup 200 is now down in the books along with the Third Leg of the Triple Crown and the 2008 Championship for the Noritz/Tempaco Sunbelt Super Late Models.

Friday night at New Smyrna Speedway there were 28 Super Late models in the pits for practice. Two had problems and did not return on Saturday - Justin Larson, who lost a motor, and Michael Williams, who lost a rear-end. There were also a few surprise drivers who were warmly welcomed - Shane Sawyer who moved to Georgia and Dennis Schoenfeld from Concord, NC. Schoenfeld's name can be found in the Blizzard races at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola with Sawyer running in the GAS Series in Georgia.


2008 - 2007 - 2006- 2005 - 2004- 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - 2000 - 1999 - 1998

Winners list from 1963 to present

Photo Gallery

Gallery 2008 Governors Cup

Gallery 2007 Governors Cup

Gallery One 2006 Governors Cup

Gallery Two 2006 Governors Cup 

Gallery One 158 photos from the 40th Annual Governors Cup

Gallery Two 175 photos  from the 40th Annual Governors Cup




PHOTO GALLERY ONE: Before the Race
PHOTO GALLERY TWO: During and after the race

2000 pre-race
2000- the wild affair
2000-Winners Circle

The 1st year the cup was televised-

Dumont Smith, winner of the 1967 Cup, made an appearance at the 2000 Governor's Cup.

James Powell III capped a great 2001 season by winning the 2001 Governor's Cup.

One of Florida's most famous residents and world famous author Patrick Smith was the Grand Marshall for the 2002 race.

Copyright ©1997-2009 Karnac.com. -- Florida Stock Car Racing and KARNAC.com are electronically published by KARNAC Media. The KARNAC© and Florida Stock Car Racing name, logo and trademarks are owned by and used with the permission of KARNAC Media. Reproduction or republishing in whole or part for inclusion in any work is strictly prohibited without prior written permission of the electronic publisher. Information may, however, be printed for the sole purpose of contacting our advertisers. Copyright© Florida Stock Car Racing, KARNAC.com,  1997-2007