Where the weather is a little hotter
and the racing is a lot faster.....All Year Round!

Your Online Racing Community Since 1998
Stock Car Racing all year round!

Pete Orr Sportsmanship Award

Governors Cup
Memorial Races
Yesterday's Tracks
Stock Car Racing Photo Gallery




                  The Award

When Pete Orr left us in November 2002, the racing world far and wide felt a deep sense of loss. The message boards momentarily halted their usual pace and a drum beat began to demand that the FASCAR organization honor Pete's memory with a special race in his honor. The consensus was that since one of Pete's favorite events was the Orange Blossom, held early in the year, be renamed to commemorate one of Florid'a most popular racers ever.

        Orlando, Florida racer Chad Pierce was named        the 2009 Pete Orr Sportsmanship Award winner.

"Not only was Pete our friend but part of our family and to rename the
Orange Blossom in his honor was the right thing to do," said Don Nerone, Track Promoter for Orlando SpeedWorld and New Smyrna Speedway. "Pete was one of the best winning this race four times, no other driver has done that in the history of the Orange Blossom," added Nerone.

Thus, "Pete's race" was born.

At this time we at KARNAC.com began to lay the groundwork for an award.  Pete Orr represented to thousands of fans and competitors alike a person of integrity, honor and tough, yet fair play.  Pete Orr was a good-will ambassador for  a sport that by its very nature needs
 to always promote the good, the positive and above all true sportsmanship, as all too often the their opposite values get the attention.
The dictionary describes sportsmanship as "Conduct and attitude considered as befitting participants in sports, especially fair play, courtesy, striving spirit, and grace in losing". In the real world, this does not adequately describe the essence of what sportsmanship really is.   With Pete Orr one is always aware of the courtesy, the striving spirit and the grace in losing."  But there was far more, an intangible, a spirit one can feel but not touch.

"A man who didn't know or even realize the word quit",  said one longtime friend.

Said another, "I was blessed enough to have worked with him, not a day went by with out a laugh not a day went by with out learning something new about racing or life".

Each year KARNAC.com, with input from many professionals in the sport,  makes the very tough decision of naming the Pete Orr Sportsmanship Award winner.  We make that decision trying always to honor Pete Orr and the concepts that he exemplified perhaps more than  any other Florida racer in last several decades.

For much more on Pete Orr, with photos, interviews  click here!

Pete Orr -A Legend

PETE ORR TRIBUTE SHOW:   Featuring guests Scott Reeves, David Green, Mike Cope, Darrell Waltrip, Travis Kittleson, Justin Drawdy, B.J. McLeod, State Senator Bill Posey, David Russell, Leroy Porter, Lee Faulk and others. Bobby Orr and Scott McAllister are guest co-hosts. CLICK TO LISTEN OR DOWNLOAD NOW

Tim Russell was presented with the Pete Orr Sportsmanship Award for 2008. Tim is seen here with his longtime friend Bobby Orr, Pete son.

2007 Pete Orr Sportsmanship Award winner Bobby Sears. Seen here with Jane Smith, longtime KARNAC writer and FASCAR Media rep in recent years.

Brian Finney -2006 Award Winner

The Orr Family in 2005 with Lee Collins
click for larger image

The Orr Family and the Racers
click for larger image

Lee Collins - 2005 Award Winner
 (with Jane Smith)

Jay Middleton - 2004 Award Winner

Copyright ©1997-2011Karnac.com. -- Florida Stock Car Racing and KARNAC.com are electronically published by KARNAC Media. The KARNAC© and Florida Stock Car Racing name, logo and trademarks are owned by and used with the permission of KARNAC Media. Reproduction or republishing in whole or part for inclusion in any work is strictly prohibited without prior written permission of the electronic publisher. Information may, however, be printed for the sole purpose of contacting our advertisers. Copyright© Florida Stock Car Racing, KARNAC.com,  1997-2011