Where the weather is a little hotter
and the racing is a lot faster.....All Year Round!

Your Online Racing Community Since 1998
Stock Car Racing all year round!

Front Page | Archive | Drivers| Tracks | History | Series | Events | Got News? | Message Board |
|Columns | MotorHeads | Classifieds | Links | Weather |Search | Letters | Audio | Photo Gallery
Stock Car Racing Photo Gallery
Governors Cup
Memorial Races

Leo Musgrave Memorial

MotorHeads Directory

A new Slant on Motorsports

Florida Stock Car Racing History

First Annual Pete Orr Memorial Orange Blossom 125 set for New Smyrna Speedway

January 7, 2003

by Jane Smith

"A wet track and worn out tires were not enough to stop Pete Orr from making history by winning the Orange Blossom 100 for the fourth time!

Orr was in contention all night as he battled first Michael Williams for the lead and later David Rogers.

Orr put his RaceCar College black #30 Monte Carlo in the lead on lap 33 and stayed there until David Rogers passed on the bottom in his new #11 Dodge.

Rogers and Orr fought a tough battle until Rogers's control arm broke on lap 48 sending him hard into the turn #3 wall.

Orr regained the lead and struggled to hold off Williams, Jack Cook and James Powell at the finish.

This was one of the best races we have witnessed in a long time." wrote Rick Anges in January 2000, the last time Pete Orr ran the Orange Blossom 100.

On January 18th, the FASCAR Sunbelt Super Late Model Series will kick off their 2003 season with the newly renamed "Pete Orr Memorial Orange Blossom 125" race. The Daytona News Journal will sponsor the race this year. The race that Pete Orr won more than any other driver in the Orange Blossom 100 race history.

When Pete Orr was lost to his hard fought battle with cancer and pneumonia in November 2002, fans and friends all asked the same thing, "Please rename the Orange Blossom 100 to Pete's race". Their plea was heard loud and clear at the FASCAR Sunbelt office and it was announced that the Orange Blossom 100 would be the Pete Orr Memorial Orange Blossom 125 and the first race of the year for the Sunbelt Super Late Model Series.

"Not only was Pete our friend but part of our family and to rename the Orange Blossom in his honor was the right thing to do," said Don Nerone, Track Promoter for Orlando SpeedWorld and New Smyrna Speed- way. "Pete was one of the best winning this race four times, no other driver has done that in the history of the Orange Blossom," added Nerone.

The name Orange Blossom came from the old Palm Beach Fairgrounds Speedway after they closed following the '83 season. It meant something at Palm Beach but was just another big race at New Smyrna Speedway.

Longtime friend of Pete Orr, Marty Little of Hialeah Speedway said, "Renaming the race in honor of Pete Orr is a very fitting tribute to a top flite racer and a good person. Pete was a special guy and this race will quickly become one that everyone wants to win."

Expected entries for the race are David Rogers, Dick Anderson, Michael Williams, Barry Willoughby, James Powell, Justin Drawdy, Travis Kittleson, B.J. McLeod and many more. Kittleson, Drawdy and McLeod all share the same hopes and that is to honor their teacher that gave them so much, Pete Orr.

"Pete was a great teacher and just one of the good guys. I learned alot from him," said Travis Kittleson. Pete was instrumental in helping Kittleson start his ASA racing career


Also see: Pete Orr in the Legends section.

Use the links below to read the account of that particular year as reported on KARNAC.com

   Pete Orr Memorial 125

2003 -
Wayne Anderson
2004 -
Wayne Anderson

Orange Blossom 100
-Travis Kittleson
2001 - Jack Cook
2000 - Pete Orr
1999 - David Rogers
1998 - Jack Cook
1997 - Jack Cook
1996 - David Russell
1995 - Jack Cook
1994 - David Russell
1993 - Pete Orr
1992 - Pete Orr
1991 - Pete Orr
1990 - Jack Cook
1989 - Leroy Porter

Copyright © Karnac.com. -- Florida Stock Car Racing and KARNAC.com are electronically published by Jack E. Smith. The KARNAC© and Florida Stock Car Racing name, logo and trademarks are owned by and used with the permission of Jack E. Smith. Reproduction or republishing in whole or part for inclusion in any work is strictly prohibited without prior written permission of the electronic publisher. Information may, however, be printed for the sole purpose of contacting our advertisers. Copyright© Florida Stock Car Racing, KARNAC.com, Jack E.Smith 1997-2004