Where the weather is a little hotter
and the racing is a lot faster.....All Year Round!

Your Online Racing Community Since 1998
Stock Car Racing all year round!

Pete Orr Sportsmanship Award

Governors Cup
Memorial Races
Yesterday's Tracks
Stock Car Racing Photo Gallery

November 23, 2008

          Wayne Anderson Captures Third Governors Cup

By Jack Smith     
Though runner-up Tim Russell led in the early going and gave him a good run, it was a very strong third Governors Cup win at the end of 200 laps for Wayne Anderson. Anderson set fast time and started on the pole in the running of the 43rd Annual Governors Cup at new Smyrna.

The race had nine cautions, but there was several very long green flag runs making for some good racing for the fans who braved the chilly temperatures.

Twenty-six cars took the green flag with not only the Cup title on the line but the Sunbelt Super Late Model Series and Triple Crown Championships as well.

Jeremy Colangelo came in with a 13 point lead over Russell, but the youngster from Deland could only manage a 9th position finish giving Russell the Sunbelt crown. A double disappoint for Colangelo as Brian Finney (Merritt Island) finished two spots ahead of him to squeeze out the Triple Crown title by a few points.

Clearwater, Florida driver Billy Mowery (pictured below)was the Hard Charger, coming from the 15th position to take third place in the Q Auto & Accident Attorneys race car. Mowery was hoping for a late caution to get a shot at the leaders, a caution that never came.

Chad Pierce (Orlando) took fourth and Travis Cope (Hernando Beach) rounded out the top five. Last year's winner Jeff Choquette was back to defend his title, ran third for much of the race, faded to the sixth spot in the final stages.

Wayne Anderson and Billy Mowery will both be guests on Inside Florida Racing"heard on RealRacinUSA.com Monday night 7 PM.

Full race reports and photos coming later.

In the Sportsman Shootout, though the race was dominated by Steve Gainey the first to cross the finish line was Wayne Morris. Morris was Dq'ed in tech.

The win went to #25 Patrick Thomas who finished 2nd on the track.



1. #84 Wayne Anderson, Wildwood
2. #36 Tim Russell, Longwood
3. #55 Billy Mowery, Clearwater
4. #57 Chad Pierce, Orlando
5. #27 Travis Cope, Hernando Beach
6. #70x Jeff Choquette, Loxahatchee
7. #80 Brian Finney, Merritt Island
8. #78 B.J. McLeod, Wachula
9. #05 Jeremy Colangelo, Deland
10. #12 Corey Freed, Orlando
11. #64 Joe Winchell, Dade City
12. #9 Rich Clouser, Palm Bay
13. #14x Martin Maresca, S.W. Ranch
14. #53 Brad Bischoff, Myakka
15. #39 Dwayne Dempsey, St. Petersburg
16. #70 James Glover, Largo
17. #62 Travis Wilson, Bartow
18. #43 Dennis Schoenfeld, Concord, NC
19. #5 Dustin Skinner, Port Orange
20. #11 David Rogers, Orlando
21. #21 Shane Sawyer, Buford, GA
22. #07 Jeff Scofield, Plant City
23. #92 Matt Bowers, Mt. Dora
24. #36x Earl Beckner, Orlando
25. #00 Robert Yoho, Pinnellas Park
26. #5 Joe Boyd, Riverview


Copyright ©1997-2009 Karnac.com. -- Florida Stock Car Racing and KARNAC.com are electronically published by KARNAC Media. The KARNAC© and Florida Stock Car Racing name, logo and trademarks are owned by and used with the permission of KARNAC Media. Reproduction or republishing in whole or part for inclusion in any work is strictly prohibited without prior written permission of the electronic publisher. Information may, however, be printed for the sole purpose of contacting our advertisers. Copyright© Florida Stock Car Racing, KARNAC.com,  1997-2007