KARNAC.com - Your Online Racing Community Since 1997 Florida Stock Car Racing
Where the weather is a little hotter
and the racing is a lot faster.....All Year Round!

Your Online Racing Community Since 1998
Stock Car Racing all year round!



Front Page | Archive | Drivers| Tracks | History | Series | Events | Got News? | Message Board |
|Columns | MotorHeads | Classifieds | Links | Weather |Search | Letters | Audio | Photo Gallery

Race Results
 Auburndale Winter Series Underway

 Randy Korte Storms to Front For Crate Late Model Win

 Korte Kaptures Krate Kash

 Mathews & Beck Top Friday Night East Bay Mains

 Cooper Tops USA Modified Special Show

 Santos Wins PRA Event at USA International

 Hendry County Back In Action

 Big night for Kile at Charlotte County

 Brandon Johnson wins Hopkins Family Truckers 200 at SpeedWorld

 Schrader Leads East Bay Win Parade

 David Wilson Takes First Win, Choquette Secures Championship

 FAST Results From Charlotte County

 Campi Grabs Two Wins in Trucks, Morris Gets Late Model Victory

 Neumann & Cannon Share Citrus Twin 50 Mod Wins

 East Bay Welcomes December With Warm Hearts and Hot Racing

 James Wright III Gets Auburndale Road Warrior Win

 David Wilson tops AACS at Desoto Super Speedway

 Staropoli Wins Race, Morales gets 2006 Pro Truck Championship at New Smyrna Speedway

 Brandon Johnson tops 75 lap Enduro at SpeedWorld

 Larson captures FMSC Win at New Smyrna Speedway;Thornton Takes Championship!

 Scofield Wins 2006 Governors Cup

 Doug Moff big LLM Winner at Desoto

 Nosbisch returns to East Bay Victory Lane

 Scofield wins 41st Annual Governor's Cup 200 and 2006 Sunbelt Super Late Model Championship

 Auburndale Results

 Danny Anderson Wins DeSoto Trucks; Late Gets Late Model Win


 Sarppraicone "Jr" Makes Tire Gamble Pay Off, Wins Q Auto and Injury OWM "Race of Champions"

 Bruce Durden leads Wire to Wire to Take Sprint Feature Win

 Seven Championships decided at Citrus Saturday in Season Finale


Citrus County Speedway

Southern Short Track Stock Car Racing

Motorheads Directory of MotorSports

 Columns & Editorials

October 9, 2000

Memories of Yesterday

Time seems to have a way of flying by, it goes faster as each year passes. This weekend, October l4, will be the biggest Super Late Model race that Florida has - the Governor's Cup. Besides being one of the longest, by the number of laps in this race, it is also the one race that every Super Late Model driver wants to win. Having your name added to that trophy is one of Florida's stockcar racing goals.

Come this Friday, New Smyrna Speedway will see small trailers and big rigs roll into the high bank track of New Smyrna Speedway. Old friends, new friends, and probably an enemy or two will come together for one purpose and one purpose only, TO WIN the Governor's Cup.

This past weekend was a Super Late Model race at DeSoto Speedway, the race before the BIG RACE. That race saw Daryl Shelnut in the #00 of Dick Anderson take the win with BJ McLeod and Mike Franklin Jr. behind him. At New Smyrna Speedway, fans saw a few Super Late Model drivers at the track for practice and once again, Travis Kittleson saw Victory Lane instead of David Rogers. Kittleson will definitely be a threat to the "old lions" with Pete Orr as his Crew Chief. But, it will seem strange not to have a Pete Orr #30 or #99 in that long line-up of Super Late Model drivers.

Fans will not only see some of their favorite racecar drivers but the new "young lions" of the Florida Pro and Florida Sunbelt Super Late Model series. Justin Drawdy of Fort Pierce, Travis Kittleson of Merritt Island, Brian Finney of Merritt Island, Barry Willoughby of Port St. Lucie, BJ McLeod of Wachula, Jonathan Brown of Sarasota, and maybe even Tom McCann of Ocala. Of course, David Rogers, Jack Cook, Bruce Lawrence, Mike Franklin, Jr., a Burkett, hopefully some Andersons, Ronnie Roach, Eddie King, Ricky Carlton, even Billy Bigley is rumored to be there. I think fans will definitely be surprised by the list of drivers.

Who will win, who will have fast time??? That is the question and to get the answer, come to New Smyrna Speedway on Octobeer 14 and see for yourself, who will have their name added to the Governor's Cup trophy. Will it be a repeat winner - one of our old pros or one of the "young lions"?? Your guess is as good as mine.

Jane Smith

Have an opinion on this story? Post a message on our Message Board!
or send a letter to the editor!



 O'Reilly Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Fast Facts, Talladega

 A Simple "Thanks" Will Help

 My Hope for 2008

 Short Track Racing is Going to the Dogs

 The Big Showdown That Never Happened

 Avoiding the Summertime Rainouts

 Is Racing Clean And Sober?

 Is Florida Speedway Co-operation All That Important?

 "Bathroom Wall" Revisited

 Wrecks, Black Flags, O My!

Copyright© KARNAC.com 1997-2006 KARNAC.com and SHORT TRACK AMERICA is electronically published by KARNAC MEDIA. The KARNAC© name, logo and trademarks are owned by and used with the permission of KARNAC MEDIA. Reproduction or republishing in whole or part for inclusion in any work is strictly prohibited without prior written permission of the electronic publisher.