Where the weather is a little hotter
and the racing is a lot faster.....All Year Round!

Your Online Racing Community Since 1998
Stock Car Racing all year round!

Front Page | Archive | Drivers| Tracks | History | Series | Events | Got News? | Message Board |
|Columns | MotorHeads | Classifieds | Links | Weather |Search | Letters | Audio | Photo Gallery
Stock Car Racing Photo Gallery
Governors Cup
Memorial Races

Leo Musgrave Memorial

MotorHeads Directory

A new Slant on Motorsports

Florida Stock Car Racing History

July 14, 1999

                   Leo Musgrave Memorial
                      7/3/1918  to  8/11/1983
Leo Musgrave moved from Ohio in 1949 to dairy farm in the Sunshine State. Being a big race fan Leo Musgrave had the foresight to build  the racing facility known as the Sunshine Speedway. After the original Howard Franklin Bridge, spanning upper Tampa Bay between St. Peterburg and Tampa, was built he saw that many of the fans going to the existing Tampa tracks were from Pinellas County.

He started construction of the speedway in 1959 and opened it on January 23, 1960. The speedway is still family owned and operated by Bonnie and Frank Hill. Son-in-law Frank is the General Manager and promoter of Sunshine Speedway.

Over the years Leo Musgrave's vision has shown through with Sunshine Speedway being one of the most successful tracks in the country.

The Memorial race has been held since 1984 to the present. 


Dwayne Dempsey, 1999 Leo Musgrave Memorial winner and Sunshine Speedway owner Bonnie Hill. Dempsey used a borrowed car to take the win.

  Leo Musgrave Memorial 

1984:  Dave Breakfield
1985   Dave Breakfield
!986:   Jimmy Cope
1987:  Jimmy Cope
1988:  Jimmy Cope
1989:  Was run as Twin 50's with Jimmy Cope winning the first event and
Mike Cope the second
1990:  Dave Dunkin
1991:  Jimmy Cope
1992:  Dwayne Dempsey
1993:  Jimmy Cope
1994:  Johnny Stanford
1995:  Mike Franklin
1996:  Dave Pletcher
1997:  Dwayne Dempsey
1998:  Sam Coghill
1999: Dwayne Dempsey

Copyright © Karnac.com. -- Florida Stock Car Racing and KARNAC.com are electronically published by Jack E. Smith. The KARNAC© and Florida Stock Car Racing name, logo and trademarks are owned by and used with the permission of Jack E. Smith. Reproduction or republishing in whole or part for inclusion in any work is strictly prohibited without prior written permission of the electronic publisher. Information may, however, be printed for the sole purpose of contacting our advertisers. Copyright© Florida Stock Car Racing, KARNAC.com, Jack E.Smith 1997-2004